The St.Moritz Art Film Festival (SMAFF) was founded in 2020 as a non-profit association, with the declared intent of organising a national and international cinema and audio-visual festival in St.Moritz and the Swiss Engadin Valley and of fostering the dissemination of cinema, art and audiovisual culture at the cantonal, national and international level.

Executive Board+

Members elected by the General Assembly of Members of the Association. The Executive Board can be constituted up to seven members and is currently composed of: Martin Hatebur (Chairman), Francesca Ariani, Elena Foster, Beat Lenherr, and Rolf Sachs.


The first chairman of the St. Moritz Film Festival is Dr. Martin Hatebur. Dr. Martin Hatebur works since 2001 as an independent attorney at law advising different international clients such as the Nestlé Group of companies, Basilea Pharmaceutica AG, Basel, Flexico Sarl, Paris, Galerie Jousse-Entreprise, Paris, White Cube Gallery, London, Galerie Meyer Riegger, Berlin, etc. Besides his activity as an attorney at law, Martin Hatebur collects contemporary art and is a member of different art institutions and museums worldwide. In particular, since 2008 he is President of the Kunsthalle Basel. Martin Hatebur, a Swiss national, lives and works between St.Moritz, Basel and Paris.

Artistic Director+

Stefano Rabolli Pansera, Founder and Director of St. Moritz Art Film Festival, is an architect and curator. After graduating with Honours at the Architectural Association School of Architecture in London in 2005, he worked with Herzog de Meuron in Basel from 2005 to 2007 and he taught at the AA as Unit Master from 2007 to 2011. In 2013, he founded Beyond Entropy Ltd, a curatorial agency operating at the threshold of art, architecture and geopolitics and developing projects in Africa, Europe and the Mediterranean coastline. He curated several national pavilions at La Biennale di Venezia and, in 2013, he was the recipient of the Golden Lion for best national participation for the Angola Pavilion. In 2015, he designed Mangiabarche open-air gallery and directed the exhibition program for the MACC, a non-for-profit space in the South West of Sardinia. From 2017 until 2022, Stefano worked as director for Hauser & Wirth Gallery in London and opened the Hauser & Wirth Gallery in St. Moritz, while continuing working on several initiatives in Europe and Asia and developing institutional projects with Christoph Büchel and with the Panza Collection.

Curatorial Council+

The curatorial team is composed of art film specialists who discuss and select the programming with the Artistic Director. It is composed by Leonardo Bigazzi, Róisín Tapponi, and Mary Pansanga.

Jury‎ ‎ ‎ ‎ ‎ ‎ ‎ ‎ ‎ ‎ ‎ ‎ ‎ +

It is an international Jury that changes every year, also according to the annual topic.

Managing Director+

Diana Segantini has her DNA in arts and culture being the great-granddaughter of the painter Giovanni Segantini and curating the family’s artistic heritage in the Engadine. She founded Segantini Unlimited, an agency specialized in art advisory, curation, cultural mediation and cultural productions such as art exhibitions, music events, documentary films andtalks. Diana holds a Masters in International Relations, a specialization in Documentary Filming and Radio Broadcasting and a PhD in Arab Islamic culture. Being fluent in 10 languages, she has a 20+ years of expertise across the Middle East and Europe with a proven track record in Arts and Culture, Film, Media Production, Communication and PR, Humanitarian work, Philanthropy and Sustainability. As an independent Film producer and Head of Arts and Culture for Swiss TV and Radio RSI, she has produced over 100 feature and documentary films, acclaimed at various international Film festivals. She currently has mandates with Art Basel, USI MEM Summer Summit, Bally Foundation Arts Prize, AEON Strategy and other cultural institutions in Switzerland and abroad. She lives in Lugano and Maloja, Switzerland with her family.

Head of Public Program+

Ewa Hess started her trajectory as art and film critic with studies of literature at the University of Zurich, where she obtained the title of licentiata philosphiae. Sorbonne Paris followed, and also some experiences as prize winning copy writer for advertising business. During her years in Kunstmuseum Bern Ewa Hess was also member of the film commission of the city of Berne, where she as well contributed to developing a communal culture concept. She co-curated «Chaos, Wahnsinn», a large overview exhibition of contemporary art in the Kunsthalle Krems (with Johannes Gachnang, 1996). She was editor of «Kulturwerkstatt» for the Swiss publication «Berner Zeitung», wrote columns for «Du», a highly regarded. After two years as film critic for «Berner Zeitung» she changed for the national Sunday paper «Sonntagszeitung» in Zurich, where she was for more than 15 years responsible for weekly culture pages. She was guest lecturer at University of Zurich and at Zurichs Art School ZHdK. Her Art Blog «Private view» attracted for 4 years wide audiences on She is also the co-founder of discussion platform «Kunstforum Zurich» and a recurring contributor to various art publications.

Art Advisory Board+

The Art Advisory Board is an independent group of opinion leaders, collectors, cultural activists and influencers, proposed by members of the Executive Board. The mission of the Art Advisory Board is to promote the activities of the Festival internationally, to elevate the cultural profile of the activities and to broaden the reach of the audience. It is composed of: Michel Auder, Johannes Binotto, Lionel Bouvier, Sabine Boss, Bob Colacello, Stuart Comer, Matt Dillon, Marie Donnelly, Elena Filipovic, Ladina Florineth, Todd Haynes, Maja Hoffmann, Samuel Keller, Udo Kier, Andrea Lissoni, Matthias Lerf, Anthony McCarten, Shahryar Nashat, Hans-Ulrich Obrist, Iouri Podladtchikov, Pipilotti Rist, Roya Sachs, Tilda Swinton, Not Vital, John Waters, Oskar Weiss.